Sounds of September

Hey again music fans, the Summer may be over but the music keeps going! This month we’re back and this time with some great sounds of September. Featuring Hvmmingbyrd, Paddy Hanna and more! Let us know of any Artists you would like us to include. HAppy Listening!



More about the Artists:


1. ‘If Love Was Enough’ by Hvmmingbyrd

Founded by singer-songwriter/producers Deborah Byrne (lead vocals/electric guitar) and Suzette Das (lead vocals, synths/keys) in 2016, Hvmmingbyrd is an ethereal pop act based in Dublin, Ireland. They fuse warm sensual vocals, electronic pulses and shimmering pop melodies with heartfelt lyricism.


2. ‘Bad Boys’ by Paddy Hanna

Dublin-based songwriter Paddy Hanna returnswith ‘Bad Boys’, a baroque cut of shimmering, intelligent pop. Following 2015’s double-whammy of ‘Austria’ and ‘Underprotected’, new single ‘Bad Boys’ finds Paddy on his most effortlessly charming form to date, the tale of those titular bad boys sitting atop a swirling, orchestral backing. “We all have one of those in our life,” Paddy jokes of the ‘Bad Boys’ the track takes its title from.


3. ‘Words’ by Conor Mason

“Derry born Mason’s hushed tones more readily suggests the sweeter notes of Paul Simon or the wistful melancholia of Elliott Smith. This is his third album and the first to have a proper label release, although the fact he plays everything except drums and trumpet sees him maintaining that DIY ethic.”


4. ‘Say Something’ by Wolves of Youth

Taking Inspiration from the likes of Kings of Leon, Catfish and the Bottlemen and Biffy Clyro, Wolves of Youth took all they liked from their individual music tastes and mixed it with their own creative style to make and hone their own personal sound. This resulted in a wonderfully creative menagerie of noise, one that has become idiosyncratic to the band.


5. ‘House in Spain’ by 5 Dollar Shakes

Are you sitting comfortably…..let me tell you a story….
First there was three, new to the big bad world of music..however things changed and before you know it a 5 piece band was born. They traveled the globe looking to find something deep within each of them only to discover that the gods above had presented them with a gift…..the gift of Funk………………WE GOT THE FUNK……GOTTA HAVE THAT FUNK


6. ‘Lilacs’ by Grainne Hunt

Gráinne Hunt released her new mini album ‘Firing Pin’ in October 2015, with the title track as the second single released off the album. The first single ‘Lilacs ‘ was released in August, reaching no.4 on the iTunes chart and gaining significant airplay on national radio. Gráinne is well known for lending her beautiful vocals to Mark Geary, Nicole Maguire and Glen Hansard and regularly compared to Natalie Merchant, Dolores O’Riordan and Alison Moyet amongst others.


7. ‘Love system’ by Elaine Mai / Le Galaxie

Since the release of her last EP in 2014, Elaine has been expanding upon her previous critically acclaimed live performances, experimenting with her live show as well as her approach to song-writing and production. Over the past two years, she has released several new remixes and co-produced the track Rocamadour with Irish producer, Daithí. She also wrote and produced the music for Finem Respice, a play which enjoyed a sold out run as part of the 2016 Tiger Dublin Fringe Festival.


8. ‘Glass’ by Electric Shore

An enigma!


9. ‘Move a Mountain’ by Track Dogs

Made up of two Irishmen; Garrett Wall (Vocals/Guitar/Ukulele/Piano) & Dave Mooney (Bass/Ukelele/Vocals), englishman Howard Brown (Trumpet/Vocals/ Percussion) and Cleveland, Ohio native Robbie K Jones (Cajón/Banjo/Vocals).
A daring lineup – cajón and trumpet replace drums and lead guitar. Four- part harmonies steal the show.


10. ‘Schroedinger’s letter’ by Emily Gahan 

Emily Gahan delivers a shy, nervous performance which is always moving and emotional. Influenced by the late Leonard Cohen, her lyrics are poetic and she draws inspiration from flamenco and classical guitar. Emily grew up in Portugal and began performing in restaurants in the Algarve at the age of 16 as part of a duo with a talented flamenco guitarist. Writing music since the age of 9, she eventually ended up studying songwriting in BIMM Dublin and is currently in her fourth year having the fortune of playing alongside an array of talented musicians from the university. Emily’s first official digital single launch, ‘Schrodinger’s Letter’ was released on March 9th 2017.


Hope you enjoyed the listen! 

Remember you can join beatvyne as fan, discover the best new music and get access to gigs in alternative music spaces in your area or beyond. Sign up as a host and bring live music into your life or register as an artist to play in new music spaces.

Reimagine your music experience

Leave a reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.